The Healing Hedge Witch Circle - A Beginners Guide to Tarot - The Major Arcana
The Healing Hedge Witch Journal

A Beginners Guide to Tarot: The Major Arcana

Mar 07, 2022

Learning to read tarot is a lofty task. There are endless books on the subject, not including the guidebooks every deck itself comes with that can often contradict each other. For a beginner, this can make you want to quit tarot before you even begin.

It’s easy to get information overload when it comes to the tarot. So, we’ve put together this introduction to the tarot for those who are ready to dip their toes into tarot before diving in head first.

A traditional tarot deck is divided into two sections: the major arcana and the minor arcana. The major arcana tells the story The Fool’s Journey through 22 cards, the first 22 cards in the deck. Starting with the Fool, the major arcana takes you through the story of his life.

In this blog, we’ll be giving an introduction to the major arcana to help you get your footing surrounding these prominent cards.

The Fool
The first card in the tarot, the Fool represents a sense of innocence. He’s setting off onto a new adventure with no clue what’s in store for him.

The Magician
The Magician has a very different energy to the Fool. He’s a powerful manifestor who serves as a reminder that we have everything that we need with the resources we have to create our desired reality.

The High Priestess
The divine feminine is personified in the High Priestess card. She represents the subconscious mind and our intuition. The High Priestess reminds us to look inward and trust our gut, because it’s usually right.

The Empress
Another powerful woman, the Empress represents a more nurturing and motherly feminine energy. She is connected to the beauty of nature, and reminds us to find gratitude for the abundance in our lives. 

The Emperor
The Emperor is the fatherly energy to match the motherly energy of the Empress. He represents structure and stability, and can indicate a provider with strength and expertise. 

The Hierophant
The Hierophant is a religious leader who represents institutions and tradition. He asks us to examine where we adhere to the status quo, and how that either is or isn’t serving us.

The Lovers
While the Lovers is a clearly romantic card, it isn’t all about true love and romance. While the Lovers can represent a harmonious romantic relationship, it is also a card about choice. It reminds us to get clear on our own values, as our values guide our choices and therefore our lives.

The Chariot
The Chariot is a card of movement and sheer will. This card is often pulled to showcase our determination to succeed.

Strength is a pretty obvious one. This card is a reminder of our courage and power. While it may be easy to associate this card with physical strength, it can also represent our ability to persuade and influence those around us.

The Hermit
The ultimate introvert, the Hermit is here to remind us it’s okay to go inwards and be alone. Some problems can’t be solved with the advice of other people, and the Hermit comes along to let us know that right now our own introspection is enough.

The Wheel of Fortune
The Wheel of Fortune is oftentimes an indicator of good luck coming your way! It also serves as a reminder of the ever changing nature of life, and may signal a new beginning coming your way.

The Justice card reminds us that every action has an equal and opposite reaction. You are not immune from the consequences of your actions, whether they be positive or negative. Justice can also signal to us that the truth is coming out.

The Hanged Man
Sometimes it takes the universe putting us in a precarious situation to force us to take a pause, and if you look at the imagery of the Hanged Man, it’ll be easy to see why this is his message. The Hanged Man reminds us that sometimes all we can do is surrender to the universe and its will.

Don’t panic! This card isn’t a premonition of a physical death. Death in the tarot is a symbol of the death of a cycle, and with that death comes a new beginning.

Temperance is the ultimate reminder that it’s time to bring your life back into balance. This card is here to tell us that patience and moderation may be the less glamorous message of the tarot, but it’s a necessary one.

The Devil
Another card that can seem frightening, the Devil showcases the darker parts of your personality. The Devil can signify addictive cycles and negative influences. This card isn’t the end of the world, the Devil card is just bringing patterns to your awareness that it may be time to address.

The Tower
The most chaotic card in the deck, the Tower lets us know that big change is coming, and it’s coming fast. Again, don’t panic, after the tower falls, there’s room to build something better.

The Star
The Star is a welcome reprieve after the Tower. This card is here to let you know that there is room for hope after this period of turbulence.

The Moon
The Moon can act as an indication of fear or projection. It can also signal that you don’t have all the information you need to make a decision. It may be time to take a pause, listen to your intuition, and recognize where you may be projecting your anxiety onto a situation. 

The Sun
Success, excitement, joy, warmth, these are all words that come to mind when we think of the Sun card. When pulling this card, it’s time to celebrate to beauty and happiness that’s coming into your life

Judgment is a card that is asking you to submit to the change that’s for your highest good. A card of absolution, Judgment is here to let you know that another big change is coming, but it’s here to bring you towards your intended path

The World
The final card of the tarot, the World, shows a completed cycle. The end of the Fool’s Journey, the World gives a sense of wholeness, accomplishment, and achievement. If you pull this card, take some time to settle into and enjoy this feeling, you’ve earned it.

When it comes to the tarot, there’s always more to learn to give more poignant and accurate readings. But, building a solid foundation of understanding is the first step to growing in your tarot knowledge, so take this beginners guide as something to build on as you improve as a reader!